Some highlights of the latest EDA I’ve read (Sometime Never).
I took these screens while reading, along with my reactions. As usual, this is full of spoilers.
No one told me anything about this book. That's the biggest surprise for me. You see, I had heard or read stuff alluding to The Ancestor Cell being a trainwreck even before I started reading the books. I had heard that Alien Bodies was good, and that The Blue Angel confused a lot of people. I had even heard vague stuff about the Doctor losing a heart at SOME POINT in SOME CONTINUITY back when I hadn't even glanced in the general direction of the books.
But nothing about this book was even vaguely known to me. And I have no idea why, because it contains the mother or rather grandfather of all retcons right at the very end, and I'm sure a lot of people are pissed off about it.
I don't really mind it.
What I do mind is that almost nothing happens for like 180 pages, then the book starts making catastrophic decision after catastrophic decision, and then, when you think it's going to be one of worst books in this series, it somehow decides to course-correct a little bit and it kinda sticks the landing for the most part.
Is the plot good? Not really. Are the regulars interesting? No. Is it full of technobabble? Oh yes, tons. Is it a bit cheap? Definitely. Do I hate it? No. It's not good, but it has some fun moments, and the last 30 pages are a bit of a rollercoaster at times. And weirdly enough, now I respect The Ancestor Cell a bit more. 3,5/10
Banger first line
Other than that it's your typical Doctor Who opening
These guys must think they're really clever
You might as well give up now guys you won't be better at that than Griffin from Unnatural History
Eight please
Fitz please
Dumbass 1, 2 and 3 are flying in a TARDIS
Nothing is happening but they're killing me
STOP MAKING ME LAUGH
I'm sorry I seem to have landed in technobabble central by accident
Yeah, no shit. I don't want to be fifteen ever again don't make me go back there
This is so stupid
Okay. Okay. In before Fitz uses an alias with Trix's name in it.
Oh wait now we're in The Kingmaker
(it's my fave audio story with Five, by the way)
Don't worry about it
HELL YEAH LET'S GO FOSSIL HUNTING
HELL YEAH HELL YEAH LET'S GOOOOO WHAT A COOL DUDE
NOOOOOOOOOO you killed the only cool thing that was happening
Okay brace yourselves a new Fitz alias is coming
LMAOOOOO ok this isn't what I expected. 10/10 incredibly stupid no notes
He's so bad at this
There's logic to his madness
Suspicious
Oh he's looking into people's future again
I don't even remember who that guy is. Have we seen him before
This is really sweet
I wish this was a joke but I fell asleep while trying to screen this
Kind of a mood not gonna lie
Okay so on one hand this is very funny, on the other hand I'm having Endgame flashbacks from when Eight was terminally depressed
Crystal [skeleton] gazing ♫
Either this is deeply concerning or it's Trix again which would be on brand but also kinda lame
Indiana Jones is on the phone, he wants to talk
Very scientific
This is every writer of this range when they're writing themselves into a corner and have to justify not using the TARDIS lol
it's okay Fitz I was also getting that reaction from people even before transitioning
If this thing isn't coming back to life before the end of the book we riot
But not right now. Maybe it needs to be complete first
This is a cute detail
Wait. I'm slow. So the council of eight are Sabbath's mysterious employers, then
You know what else is slow, though? This plot. We're almost halfway through the book and I'm still waiting for anything of substance to happen
By the way every discussion between these guys is boring and I'm not screenshotting anything from them because it's just technobabble central of and over again. But trust me, there's a lot of them
Acting very normal once again, I see
Eight please try to focus
Me trying to emote
LMAO Everyone's on a mission to ruin this guy's life
UH OH
I swear to god I'm so done with her antics
Respect the Doctor's pronouns dude
Wait pause. Rewind. What was that about, Trix
At least he admits it I guess
Least surprising plot point ever but I'm still glad it happened
I know I haven't finished this book yet but I think we can already conclude this arc is pretty bullshit
If that's what happened that's one hell of a retcon since it wasn't described like that all the way back in Adventuress of Henrietta Street
Meanwhile Fitz rolled a 1 in Charisma
Oh Zezanne's mother is Miranda? That makes more sense
I don't like that book very much but the dialogue can be fun at times
Like this dialogue, for instance
This is all a bit too cartoony for my taste
The writer seems to be struggling to find a decent way to move to the next plot point
I labelled all three of these screenshots as "interesting" during my liveblog so I might as well put all of them here at the same time and say "interesting"
And also there's this old guy and this viking girl for some reason
There's also the Eminence, Eight in several continuities, and that thing that was knocking on the door in Listen. It's quite crowded at the end of the universe really
That's rough, buddy
So they're collecting crushed stuff at the end of time. Basically fossil hunting then. I wish the narrative was more interested in that theme because it keeps popping up but it's more or less ignored
Ok you destroyed it after spending the entire book trying to put it back together. What now.
If they're planning to live in the vortex they can have a convo with the vortisaurs I guess but they're going to get bored really fast
SDFGHJKDFGHJK
Eight please
WAIT, THEY'RE IN A CELL, TAKE A SHOT
Ok this is really touching. But also now I must assume some of the people in this equation are gonna die
Meanwhile Patterson has a deathwish
FUCKING SAME
so you built a big thing to destroy History. how boring of you
Oh I like that Fitz's hourglass seems to have been hastily put back together, this is a nice touch
Terrible job, everyone!
Did he just hit Octan with a "no u" to refute his entire explanation
I like that, for the record. It's very funny
Oh they're using his companions' timelines to power the machine, and they can terminate some of them more of less at will. This is a bit fanwanky, but at least that makes things more complicated in the middle of this frankly exhausting pile of technobabble
WAIT. Rewind. Did they just kill Sam off screen with a single sentence
I take it back. This idea sucks
This entire plot is starting to look more and more like the author taking a baseball bat and drunkenly swinging it around the canon to break random bits of it
The main issue with putting the entirety of history at stake in a plot is that the reader, well me at least, is going to look you in the eye the entire time going "I dare you. I double dare you"
Wait are we killing Miranda too
Apparently, yes. Yes we are killing Miranda too
someone please throw a brick at crystal boy
Well okay, this is mildly clever, but I'm still voting we kill the fucker
For anyone reading this and not remembering this book very well (or who hasn't read it at all. I don't know why you'd read my ramblings if that's the case, but you do you), I feel the need to mention that Miranda is literally dead at his feet while he's smiling and saying this, and also that they've been talking about who Sabbath should kill for 5 pages in a row
Or you could fucking shoot yourself because at this point you've all been talking about this for ever and I'm tempted to do exactly that
again, I'm reminding you that Miranda is dead at his feet while he's cracking jokes
LMAOOOOOOO YES. PERFECT. THANK YOU
I know this is probably not the intended reaction but that discussion had been going on for TEN PAGES
Teenage me too scared to correct people saying my name wrong
this book is making me appreciate The Ancestor Cell, which is a strange thing to say
ok that's cute at least
Wait. Did that undo some offscreen deaths. I'm confused
every argument on the internet
Guys he's destroying you by going "no u" over and over again. Do something
Some pretty cool imagery there
FINALLY
he's gonna go back to the first page isn't he
called it
Eight basically wrecked these guys' entire plan by alternating between "no u" and "I double dare you" and ragebaiting them to death, and ngl, I respect it
So yeah, this is probably the worst arc in this series of books by quite a large margin. Can't believe the best book in it ended up being Reckless Engineering
surprise! you're an uncle now
lmaoooooo Eight doesn't have time for your complaints about surprise adoptions
oh my god Anji is never going to be able to rest ever again is she
I just remembered how the book started with that sentence. A bit disappointing, but could be way worse. That's kind of this entire book, isn't it. But I have to admit it sticked the landing quite well after being some type of slow-motion boring car crash for 180 pages
oh WOW completely out of left field. The mother of all retcons has just hit the second tower
I'm not sure I dislike it, though. Does that mean the timelords have been erased from the entire continuity, or is this just in the specific timeline of these two? Bold move, in any case. Pretty cool












































































































No comments:
Post a Comment